Let Me Be by Hempza Mawawa

“Let me be”

Written by Hempza

Published by Ass Bee Msc. / Native Hut Msc.

Let me be!

Let my Melanin being be

Let my soul & heart be, before it bleeds

Let me keep at these greens

Keep your rules away from my skills

Let my mind be at ease

For ideas pop like Mohammed

But some thought I was going mad

Coz’ I locked this black ship skin on my head

They better stop the act, and face the fact

We need to take a stand

This here Africa is thee promised land

Then – all this hate & oppression can end

So one night, our Blaq can see the light

Our beautiful brown skin, will shine out bright

I’m with thee elements of surprise

Definitely on the rise

Better analize and realize

We are that unremovable silhouette in your eyes

Becoming our own tutors

In a life designed for us with no future…

Let me be!

Better yet, I just have to be

Coz’ to me it comes as a surprise

As I analize & continuosly realize

How this situation is now more like lies

While some of us think this system is just nice

They be caught up in their material reciprocity

Can’t even return to our ways of generosity

We truly feel the need for humanity, not insanity

Coz’ Western man would say, it’s a formality

When we suffer from all the Police brutality

Placing our souls, where they don’t want to be

Always taken to jail, so much the bail would fail

Trying to drive most us insane

Pressuring ghetto youth with all this pain

Have to be brave, or we’ll be taken to the grave

I feel some people need to be re-educated

So their hate can be eliminated

Help them to open their mind pores

Recognize! That we are all here for serious chores

Not to create these wars

Bakwethu it is all wrong…

Let me be!

Let my Melanin being be

Let my soul & heart be, before it bleeds

Let me keep at these greens

Keep your rules away from my skills

Let my mind be at ease

________________________________________________________________

Leave a comment